Damn alarm clock…

2nd Monday after Christmas / 1st Monday after Epiphany

This is the time of the year where I get my dates in the liturgical calendar kinda wrong. I keep forgetting that yesterday (the Feast of the Epiphany) was the “official” end to the “Twelve Days of Christmas”. For folks who don’t really follow or get the liturgical year, yes, the Christmas season does extends for this long in the liturgical year. After Epiphany, it’ll then revert back to Ordinary Time in the Roman Catholic calendar (until Ash Wednesday when Lent begins) and it’ll be the “season” (for lack of a better word) of Epiphany in the Anglican & Methodist calendars.

On another note, I am wondering when the Orthodox Great Lent begins and when Pascha is this year. Every now and again, the two lungs of the Church (East and West) end up celebrating Pascha at the same time (it’s usually every few years on a repeating basis). Should go and check the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America’s website for that…

======================================

Today was good to get back to some sort of order/routine in life again. Except that I slept straight through my damn alarm clock and instead woke up an hour and a half later than I should have. Meaning that I ended up at work about an hour later than usual.

It was good to go for Eucharist again at St. John’s. The sub-dean of the Cathedral, Rev. Peter Catt, presided over today’s Eucharistic celebration as we read through chapter 4, verses 12-25 from St. Matthew’s gospel. The other reading was taken from St. John’s first letter, 3:22-4:6 and our responsorial psalm Ps 2:6-11.

Christ’s words in the Gospel exhorting us to repent as the kingdom of heaven is near hit me with a great afreshness (is that even a word???) as well as the calling of St’s Peter and Andrew to “Come, follow me.” This vocational struggle that’s going on within me is essentially one where I am almost stumbling around on the path but yet following that one voice to repent and come follow Him. Those simple words, “Come, follow me” are taking on a much deeper, existential meaning for me as life meanders on. Am I truly following Christ or myself? I find myself praying the very words (again) that Fr. Louis wrote 40-50 years ago:

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. … Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing. And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.

At the Eucharist it was also good to catch up with a former colleague from work who retired a year or so ago. He was there when I first started my cadetship and helped me to apply and get permission to study for my masters. I almost didn’t recognize him with his beard. Turns out that he also helps at St. John’s on the parish council or whatever. Brisbane is a small place indeed.

Time for dinner and then off for MNBS with the MYF crew.

+ Pax,
bf 1826hrs

Leave a Reply

