My Everything

Lent 2, Friday
Feast of the Chair of St. Peter (RC Calendar)
Eve of the Memorial of St. Polycarp (d.c. 135), Bishop of Smyrna and martyr (Anglican & RC Calendars)

WYD08: 144 days to go

Jesus, My Everything
© 2003, Matt Maher. (P) 2003, spiritandsong.com®, a division of Oregon Catholic Press

I’ve been looking for a reason, ◊ I’ve been longing for a purpose, ◊ I’m losing all my meaning, ◊ I’ve run out of excuses. ◊ Lord, it’s hard to know you, ◊ I don’t always see your plan. ◊ But holiness is calling me, ◊ so take me as I am.

‘Cause you are my everything, ◊ you are the song I sing; ◊ I’ll do anything for you. ◊ Teach me how to pray, ◊ to live a life of grace; ◊ I’ll go anywhere with you. ◊ Jesus, be my everything.

Lord, I get so tired of the struggle within. ◊ I settle in complacency and I’m weighed down in my sin. ◊ So lead me past emotion, ◊ ’cause they change with the wind. ◊ I want to be a true disciple; ◊ to daily choose your hand.

‘Cause you are my everything, ◊ you are the song I sing; ◊ I’ll do anything for you. ◊ Teach me how to pray, ◊ to live a life of grace; ◊ I’ll go anywhere with you. ◊ Jesus, be my everything.
You are my everything, ◊ you are the song I sing; ◊ I’ll do anything for you. ◊ Teach me how to pray, ◊ to live a life of grace; ◊ I’ll go anywhere with you. ◊ Jesus, be my everything.
Jesus, be my everything.
◊ Jesus, be my everything. ◊ Jesus, be my everything.

I’m finally back into the rhythm of my prayer rule again. Can’t believe that it’s taken almost two months since I got back from Malaysia to do so. The mind and body feels better for it though. Not to mention that my mood swings between “relatively friendly” and “pissed off at the world on the inside, so leave me alone to wallow in my own misery” have been reduced a helluva lot this week. There’s always something about the Psalms that is calming for the soul.

It’s a strange amalgamation in terms of my prayer books that I’m using though.

Benedictine Daily Prayer (BDP) still remains the #1 choice in terms of using the monastic calendar and its liturgical structure. Plus the translations of the Latin hymns into English there provide me with ample material for reflection while singing/chanting them. Besides, I still adore the Benedictine monastic compline that is in there that’s prayed before retiring for the night. Granted though, I still have yet to see the traditional monastic compline from the 1st edition [mid-1940s] of “A Short Breviary” (Liturgical Press). Anyone out there, that’s on my wishlist. And my birthday’s coming up in the next few months…

Nah, I’m just kiddin’ and playin’ with ya! =P

For Vigils (aka Matins), the BDP office is unchanged. Come Lauds and Vespers however, the psalmody is usually left unchanged however the Scripture readings in there have been substituted with the readings for Morning Prayer & Evening Prayer in the “A Prayer Book for Australia” lectionary. And that’s a bit odd at the moment because for vigils in BDP, I’ve been going through Hebrews for the NT reading and then the APBA lectionary is behind the BDP vigils by one chapter in Hebrews. Then again, I shouldn’t complain. It means that I get a double chance to reflect and ponder a bit more on St. Paul’s letter then. Compline however is still BDP all the way (I like the stability of the office there in comparison to what’s found for APBA, though the traditional compline from the proposed 1928 UK BCP is definitely beautiful as well (found within the CoE’s Common Worship service book).

And just for fun, the 1911 Tridentine Breviary (trans. into English) is also up on archive.org. It’s interesting to compare the layout of the offices too from then to now (certainly the nocturns used in the Psalter schema in the old Breviarium Romanum are substantially larger than under the revised Psalter schema of Pope Paul VI post-Vatican II).

Anyway, I’ve rambled on enough. Compline and then sleep. Hope that tomorrow isn’t gonna be THAT hot while us youth are cleaning the church.

Dear Lord, please send just enough cloud cover to lower the temperature a bit to make it slightly more comfortable in cleaning while we’re all there. And after that, please help me with inspiration to finish off my short message for Youth Fellowship tomorrow night on Lent and Matt 4:1-11.

+ pax,
bf 2200hrs

Leave a Reply

