Autumn finally arrives

Easter Saturday / Eve of Divine Mercy Sunday (Sunday 2 Easter)
Feria, 1st Class

The Easter Octave has pretty much well finished for another year. And it’s been a busy one too for me. Work has eaten into my devotional time. It has been annoying, but one has to live out prayer in daily work too. And that’s been challenging given what I’ve been given to do at work. It’s been interesting following through the liturgical year at St. John’s during weekdays. This week, the vestments and altar linens have been in white post Easter Sunday. I’m wondering what they’ll be this week in the 2nd week of Eastertide.

Having said that, I know a few people at work are Greek Orthodox so they won’t be having their Easter celebrations until April 27 this year. This year, it’s apparently one of the longest spans between the Western church’s calculation of Easter and the Eastern church’s calculation of Easter. Having said that, Erev Passover, according to a calendar I have in Outlook, doesn’t fall until April 19 and Passover itself falls on April 20 this year.

Since last Saturday, that soreness has only finally begun to leave me today. Though I’m sure that I’ll feel a wee bit of it in the morning after today’s weight lifting session here at home.

Fall/Autumn has finally begun to kick in almost a month after we officially entered into that season of the year. I’ve only gotten out my “doona” (i.e. my thick quilt normally used in winter) today because it’s been rather chilly. At least tonight I won’t be shivering my ass off and feeling numb tomorrow morning.

===========================

Books I have been meandering my way through of late:

John Macquarrie’s “A Guide to the Sacraments” – This has been a great study by one of the greatest Anglican theologians of the 20th Century (and a Christian existentialist to boot too!) of how Christ is the source of and the minister of each of the “traditional seven sacraments” (or “the two dominical sacraments and the other five sacramental rites” or “the two dominical sacraments and the other five heretical inventions of those darned papists”, depending on which room you’re in, in the theological house of horrors/cards/whatever). And of the principle that one cannot separate Word from Sacrament nor Sacrament from Word. They are both inseparable parts of Christian liturgy, theology and life.

Dave Armstrong’s “A Biblical Defense of Catholicism” – Being Protestant (but only just, by a thread or two), this is providing some intellectually stimulating and challenging reading. I’m beginning to grasp even more about what hermeneutics is by reading this.

C.S. Lewis’ “The Screwtape Letters” – I’ll admit it, I’m a Lewis fan. And Screwtape and Wormwood never fail to amuse me, nor remind me of the dangers of trying to rationalize Satan out of the teaching of the Church.

Homer’s “The Iliad” (trans. by Robert Fagles) – an absolute classic of the written word. Once I’m done with this, Fagles’ translation of “The Odyssey” will be the next challenge.

Other books that I want to sink my teeth into?

Dante’s “The Divine Comedy” – I’ve only ever read parts of it so I’m looking for a decent translation of all three books that make it up (namely, “V1: Inferno”, “V2: Purgatorio” & “V3: Paradiso”). Anthony Esolen’s translation for Random House is one on my shortlist as well as the Dorothy Sayers, Mark Musa and Robin Kirkpatrick translations by Penguin Classics. Any suggestions or recommendations?

St. Louis de Montfort’s “True Devotion to Mary” – This has been a book I have been recommended by a helluva lot of people if one wants to properly understand Roman Catholic devotion to the Blessed Virgin. This should be interesting reading to say the very least.

Rex Pickett’s “Sideways” – I’ve seen the movie (Paul Giamatti is hilariously great!) and read the book once through before. Wanna get in another read of this modern “road trip combined with wine tasting” classic.

Now time for some shuteye. Will be leading tomorrow’s Sunday service in the morning. And I’ll be mourning the fact that this Methodist church doesn’t celebrate the full season of Eastertide (including Ascension Day) at all. =(

+ Pax,
bf 2149hrs

Leave a Reply

