Can’t sleep

Trinity 3/Ordinary Time 3 – Wednesday

It’s almost midnight. Daai yi mah and yi jeong are gonna be heading to Sydney tomorrow. I have to be up in 6 hours so that I can wake them from their slumber so that they can make it to Gold Coast Airport on time.

In my phases of depression, I always turn to one other author apart from the one who inspired “the Good Book”. And Merton.

Haruki Murakami (村上春樹). I’ve got his entire back catalogue of literature that has been translated into English from Nihongo (i.e. Japanese). At this point in time, I feel a wee bit like his character Mari, in “After Dark (アフターダーク)“. Though a part of me also feels a bit jaded and unsure of my place in life like Takahashi does.

The alienation from this world and others this time around has never attacked me as strongly as it has this time around. It’s a scary place to be at.

Now I’m on to re-reading “Norwegian Wood (ノルウェイの森)” for the third or fourth time now. Where is my Naoko? Even if she doesn’t love me. And where is my Midori (both in a human sense as well as the alcoholic sense)? And where is a sanatorium that I can check myself into?

After this, I need another dose of the surreal. I’m thinking that re-reading “The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle (ねじまき鳥クロニクル)” for the second time through is the go. I can’t read this one too often: it’s an incredibly dense work of literature that requires sustained concentration (like reading anything by Thomas Pynchon). Or if not that, re-reading “Blind Woman, Sleeping Willow” just to re-read the short story “Tony Takitani (トニー滝谷)”.

Oh goody, I’m feeling sufficiently tired now to sleep.

Now if I can only get this weight off my back…

Pax,
bf 0010hrs

Leave a Reply

