Yeehar!

Ordinary Time 26 – Wednesday
Feast of Saint Thérèse de Lisieux O.C.D., Virgin & Doctor of the Roman Catholic Church

Got some good news today. Deo gratias.

That in spite of my pitifully low ranking (well, by my opinion that is; didn’t do too badly given how many people actually did apply for these jobs) on the order of merit in a job selection exercise, I did manage to secure a promotion so that I will no longer be just an acting APS6 officer (even though I’m a substantive APS5).

Come October 16 (if all the gazetting processes get through OK), I’ll officially be gazetted in the Commonwealth Government Gazette as a substantive APS6 compliance officer. And I should be receiving my formal notification of promotion sometime soon by email or internal mail at work.

But until then, I’ll still be an APS5 officer who is doing most of his work at an APS6 level and some at an EL1 level (well, that’s according to my superiors at least – I just consider it work).

What does this all ultimately mean however? More concrete responsibilities at work now and I’m up for the challenge. Bring it on. 

But I am a worm, not a human being… (Psalm 22:5a, TNIV)

The LORD is G-d,
and he has made his light shine on us.
With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession
up to the horns of the altar.
You are my G-d, and I will praise you;
you are my G-d, and I will exalt you.
Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
his love endures forever. (Psalm 118:27-29, TNIV)

Now here’s hoping that the EL1 higher duties I applied for gets up. But if not, I can’t complain at all. At least I still have a job. Unlike an ever growing number in the States as the financial crisis over there that began on Wall Street begins to take its toll on “Main Street”. For them, all I can do from this other end of the earth is pray that God will provide for all who are worried and stressed about their jobs and how they will make do if they lose them. Lord have mercy.

+ Pax,
bf 2032hrs

One thought on “Yeehar!”

Leave a Reply

