Mines

Ordinary Time 33/Trinity 26 – Wednesday
Feast day of St. Elizabeth of Hungary

It’s been one helluva long day for me today.

Woke up at 3:15-ish this morning before making myself a decent breakfast and then waiting for the cab I booked to pick me up at 4:30am (which it did). Meaning that my official work day started today at 4:30am.

The trip up to Central Qld to visit a minesite was unbelievable. From the 1hr 15min flight on a Bombardier Dash-8 300 series (which is one helluva turboprop airliner) to the tiny little aerodrome my colleagues, the representatives of the client and I all dubbed “T****ool International”, to the “Qantas Club” at the local pub up the road this arvo, it was one helluva day. Apart from the delay on the flight back to Brissie… meaning that my work day officially ended at 8:45pm tonight.

I have a newfound respect for the men and women who work at mine sites. The equipment they have at their disposal is incredibly expensive and tremendously powerful. And they work shifts which make my work hours in the office look pathetic. From a huge dump truck that is fully laden and driving on a haul road at 25 km/h, the speed sounds slow, but when you are in a Toyota Landcruiser and you see one of them in the rear view mirrors, it’s a sight to behold.

Some beautiful country out there in Central Queensland. And the townships scattered around are so quaint and filled with a laidback character.

Am looking forward to showing the photo gallery to my colleagues from work on Monday morning when all of them are back in Brissie. On that note, it’s 10:15pm now and that means that I’ve been awake for 19 hours now. I am utterly stuffed. It is definitely time for sleep.

+ Pax,
bf 2215hrs

One thought on “Mines”

Leave a Reply

