Sickness & liturgy

Ordinary Time 5/Epiphany 5/3rd Week before Lent – Thursday
Feria

It’s amazing how when feeling sick, the simplicity of Low Mass is a refreshing breeze in one’s day. Though at today’s liturgy, good gosh I didn’t particularly like the first reading (because it strikes a little too close to home for me): Genesis 2:18-25. My parents have been slyly reinforcing to me about finding a lass to get married to over the last few weeks. Especially now that Charles Anthony is getting married on 28 Feb. It’s getting rather annoying and rather amusing. They have another person in mind now. The first person they tried to set me up with has now long gone out of my radar in a romantic sense and after almost 3 years of them trying to get me to go back to her they have left that cause alone now. Only to move on to another. It’s like a big game of cat and mouse with them I tell ya…

Just like the current dancing around between QR and the railway unions. Getting to work next Monday and Wednesday is going to be a trial given the strikes that are being planned. I might just have to use up a couple of days of the almost weeks of annual leave that I have banked up still and enjoy my time at home…

===============================

Things I’m reading?

Rupert Shortt, Rowan’s Rule: The Biography of the Archbishop (Hodder & Stoughton, London:2008 )
Abp. Rowan Williams has always piqued my interest given that he’s a theologian, pastor and diplomat whom I aspire (aside from Jesus and my grandfather) to be like. More erudite and tactful than Pope Benedict XVI IMHO (though the Holy Father is another who also I have a deep respect and admiration of). Given the current tensions in the Anglican Communion, this is a welcome biography about him by Rupert Shortt, Religion Editor of The Times Literary Supplement. It will provide a view from the other side given that a lot of noise (with some vitriol) has been made about Abp. Rowan’s leadership of the Church of England and the Anglican Communion by a number of conservatives in the Global South and in the USA (I’m thinking of David Virtue of VirtueOnline as an example of the type of “noise” that has been made about Abp. Rowan’s leadership). So far after one chapter, things are looking good.

Anthony Bourdain, Kitchen Confidential (Bloomsbury, London: 2000)
Another one of my favorite books ever. I’m re-reading it again (for the third time). The chapter entitled “The Level of Discourse” is thoroughly entertaining and I have to stop myself from laughing like an absolute idiot on the train ride home from work. Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook and the New Concise Larousse Gastronomique have been thumbed through a fair bit as well of late as I’m getting a bit antsy about helping my Dad out with cooking again. Dammit, I need practice at doing prep work here at home. My knife skills are getting dull. And dammit, I need practice making an omelette again. The last one I did almost burnt to a crisp.

Archbishop George Carey, Know The Truth: A Memoir (HarperCollins, London: 2004)
After I’m done reading Abp. Rowan’s biography, I’m starting up on Abp. George Carey’s autobiography. He was Abp. Rowan’s immediate predecessor and like him, I have a great deal of admiration at the life that Abp. Carey has lived and how he expressed his faith in it. His memoirs should be good reading too.

Now off for a very late vespers before I enjoy some reading in bed before sleep.

Toodles.

+ bf 2020hrs

Leave a Reply

