Paradox

Ordinary Time 6/Epiphany 6
Holy Innocents Day (alternative date in the Australian Anglican Calendar)

To the guys and gals from EMP MYF who read this: after Monday night, you are all in my prayers. God be with you all.

=================================

Christian life is a paradox at times. After recent events like flood, bushfires and the ever present battle in Gaza, at times I do question why on earth God lets this all happen.

How in the face of poverty around the world and in Australia, can I still call God “good”? In the death of innocent civillians and innocent children from war, poverty, disease, human greed and whatever else anyone can think of (of which today at Mass we were reminded of given today is the alternative date for Holy Innocents Day in the 2009 Anglican Calendar).

With all of the crap that is going on in the world caused by us pesky humans, why oh why does God still let all of this happen? I am faced with doubt each time similar events happen. I pass through it eventually, but each time I get a glimpse as to why non-Christians say that they can’t believe in a God (if one exists) who would allow these things to happen and yet still call such a God “good”.

I’m worse than Job in that respect. At least he never did wrong by cursing or questioning God to the extent that I do. This paradox of Christian living and existence will continue to haunt me the rest of my life. It is (with apologies to St. John of the Cross), my own personal dark night of the soul. But I know that faith is strengthened in times of doubt and adversity (even though I doubt that at times too!). When the tether seems like it is about to snap, somehow it doesn’t.

To paraphrase Scripture: O God I believe; help my unbelief! (cf. Mk 9:24)

 

“At All Times” – Vicky Beeching
from the album Painting the Invisible 

In the summer of life, in the laughter and light;
I will love you, I will trust you.
When I’m weary and dry, in the soul’s darkest night;
I will love you, I will trust you.

You are my strength and my song
Always giving me hope to go on.

And at all times, I will sing of your greatness.
At all times, I will sing of your love.
And at all times, I will say you are faithful,
For your goodness remains, and your love is the same
At all times.

On the mountain of joy where the view is so clear;
I will love you, I will trust you.
When I feel all alone in the valley of tears;
I will love you, I will trust you.

Whatever life brings, still I will sing
You are good, you are good, you are good
Whatever life brings, still I will sing
You are good, you are good, you are good
Whatever life brings, still I will sing
You are good, you are good, you are good

And at all times, I will sing of your greatness.
At all times, I will sing of your love.
And at all times, I will say you are faithful,
For your goodness remains, and your love is the same.

And at all times, I will sing of your greatness.
At all times, I will sing of your love.
And at all times, I will say you are faithful,
For your goodness remains, and your love is the same
At all times.

Rule of St. Benedict
Chapter 4 “Guidelines for Christian and monastic good practice”

Keep the reality of death always before your eyes,
have a care about how you act every hour of your life
and be sure that God is present everywhere
and that he certainly sees and understands what you are about. — RB 4:47-49

+ bf 2112hrs

Leave a Reply

