Lent and Koine

Lent 1 – Sunday

Lent is here again. What will I give up? Food again I think. I always seem to eat too much (which is why I have a spare tyre on me). And Lent is a season of fasting and repentance. Apart from Sundays which are always feast days in the liturgical calendar. The rest of the week however I think will remain a 2 meal day with very limited snacking unless I am feeling particularly light headed (and the Eucharist during weekdays doesn’t count as a snack). And that includes refreshments post-Monday Night Bible Study at Rev. Lui’s house and refreshments post-Young Adults Group on Friday nights as well. The only day which I am excepting from this Lenten regime is the day when my team is going out for a team lunch (but even then I am planning to order something smaller in size than a standard lunchtime meal at the restaurant we have booked at).

Other things in Lent? A more regular observance of the Divine Office (even if it means that I pray Vespers at 9pm at night just before Compline and sleep). The canonical time of the day for each office be darned I say (or maybe not… some of you out there may anathema me for saying that!)

More meditation on the incarnation of Christ in his mother, the Blessed Virgin Mary (in praying the Angelus). More meditation on the Spirit of God who was within Mary and inspired her to say “Fiat mihi secúndum verbum tuum.” (OK, maybe not said in Latin, but she would have said it most probably in Aramaic). I continue praying for that same courage to say the same back to God when he asks me to do something.

Almighty God,
whose Son Jesus Christ fasted forty days in the wilderness,
and was tempted as we are, yet without sin:
give us grace to discipline ourselves in obedience to your Spirit;
and, as you know our weakness,
so may we know your power to save;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Other things to do in Lent?

Get back to my study of Koine Greek. I have slacked off a lot since Christmas ’08 and while I can use work as an excuse, it’s primarily my time management outside of work. And as such, I’ve forgotten a lot of the basics that I picked up prior to Christmas. I’m hitting Mounce’s Greek for the Rest of Us (Zondervan) and Jeremy Duff’s The Elements of New Testament Greek (Cambridge University Press) for real. I’ll think about Biblical Hebrew in 2010.

Because, quite frankly, All Things Are Better In Koine. Really (lyrics available here).

Lego my ego. Lego my ego.

+ bf 1907hrs

Leave a Reply

