I am shut in

Ordinary Time 17/Trinity 7 – Sunday

Psalm 88 (NAB)

1: A song; a psalm of the Korahites.
For the leader; according to Mahalath.
For singing; a maskil of Heman the Ezrahite.

2: LORD, my God, I call out by day;
at night I cry aloud in your presence.

3: Let my prayer come before you;
incline your ear to my cry.

4: For my soul is filled with troubles;
my life draws near to Sheol.

5: I am reckoned with those who go down to the pit;
I am weak, without strength.

6: My couch is among the dead, with the slain who lie in the grave.
You remember them no more; they are cut off from your care.

7: You plunged me into the bottom of the pit,
into the darkness of the abyss.

8: Your wrath lies heavy upon me;
all your waves crash over me. [Selah]

9: Because of you my friends shun me;
you make me loathsome to them;
Caged in, I cannot escape;

10: my eyes grow dim from trouble.
All day I call on you, LORD;
I stretch out my hands to you.

11: Do you work wonders for the dead?
Do the shades arise and praise you? [Selah]

12: Is your love proclaimed in the grave,
your fidelity in the tomb?

13: Are your marvels declared in the darkness,
your righteous deeds in the land of oblivion?

14: But I cry out to you, LORD;
in the morning my prayer comes before you.

15: Why do you reject me, LORD?
Why hide your face from me?

16: I am mortally afflicted since youth;
lifeless, I suffer your terrible blows.

17: Your wrath has swept over me;
your terrors have reduced me to silence.

18: All the day they surge round like a flood;
from every side they close in on me.

19: Because of you companions shun me;
my only friend is darkness.

===============================

Sarah Hart – Love That Is You
from the album “Into These Rooms”

Your love is a mystery / Complicated by my own self-hatred / I want so much to see / What you do… what you do… / Your love is unquestioning / Never done in by my own shortcomings and / I want just to believe. /  That it’s true… that it’s you.

Come and reveal it / Lord, let me feel this.

(Chorus) Love that is you / Love that is you./

The cross should have been enough / but the sad condition of the days I live in is / In my distractions / I forget to remember You / Break me and free me / Lord let me see this.

(Chorus)

(Bridge) Love that has no expectations / Void of selfish intimations / Moving with a gentle patience / I am not worthy of… / I am not worthy of … this LOVE.

Love that is you / Love that is you / Oh this Love that is you / Love that is you.

+ 2252hrs

Leave a Reply

