Random thoughts on a Sunday

Ordinary Time 22/Trinity 12 – Sunday

[ now playing? ] anberlin – “Hello Alone!”, “Cadence”, “Naïve Orleans”, “Soft Skeletons”, and whatever songs are random playing on my anberlin playlist

I’m still on a bit of an anberlin high.

And by high, I mean emo.

Confession: if there’s one thing I love more than reading or listening to music, it’s this (and there are a number of pics in this post).

S-T-A-T-I-O-N-E-R-Y

I have a thing for pens, paper and ink. Yes, you read right.

By pens, I mean mechanical pencils, ballpoints, rollerballs and fountain pens. And I’m not talking about disposable pens. I’m talking about these:

LAME noto, white ballpoint
LAMY noto, white ballpoint
LAMY Logo, brushed stainless steel ballpoint
LAMY Logo, brushed stainless steel ballpoint
LAMY Logo, brushed stainless steel 0.5mm mechanical pencil
LAMY Logo, brushed stainless steel 0.5mm mechanical pencil
LAMY safari, charcoal rollerball
LAMY safari, charcoal rollerball
LAMY safari, charcoal fountain pen (medium nib)
LAMY safari, charcoal fountain pen (medium nib)
LAMY vista, clear fountain pen (medium nib)
LAMY vista, clear fountain pen (medium nib)
Waterman Hemisphere Starlight, chrome fountain pen
Waterman Hemisphere Starlight, chrome fountain pen
LAMY 2000, Makrolon fountain pen
LAMY 2000, Makrolon fountain pen
LAMY alstar, graphite fountain pen
LAMY alstar, graphite fountain pen
LAMY safari, limited edition glossy orange fountain pen
LAMY safari, limited edition glossy orange fountain pen

By paper, I’m talking not about the stuff you buy for cheap at Big W. I’m talking about:

Moleskine, classic ruled notebook, large in red
Moleskine, classic ruled notebook, large in red
Moleskine, 18 month diary
Moleskine, 18 month diary
Rhodia Classic Spiral Bound Notebook
Rhodia Classic Spiral Bound Notebook
Rhodia 4 Colours Spiral Bound Notebook, interior
Rhodia 4 Colours Spiral Bound Notebook, interior
Rhodia A4 Pad #20
Rhodia A4 Pad #20

And by ink, I’m not talking about those dweeby disposal ballpoint refills. I mean these:

LAMY ink, blue with roll of blotting paper
LAMY T52 ink bottle, blue with roll of blotting paper
Waterman ink bottle (~2 fl. oz.), Florida Blue
Waterman ink bottle (~2 fl. oz.), Florida Blue
LAMY M63 rollerball refill
LAMY M63 rollerball refill
LAMY M16 Giant Ballpoint Refill
LAMY M16 Giant Ballpoint Refill
LAMY T10 Fountain Pen Cartridges, blue ink
LAMY T10 Fountain Pen Cartridges, blue ink

I’ve sort of moved on from using most disposable/office-supply pens. Yes, they may be cheap (and some write really well, Pilot G2 gel-based ink rollerballs are really, really, really good to write with as are the near ubiquitous Bic Cristals) but they aren’t exactly the most environmentally friendly things in the world (especially when one cannot seem to find refills available, which sadly was the case with the G2’s that I was using for a while).

When disposable ballpoints are finished, they’re just usually dumped into landfill (and heck, I’m not even sure whether disposable ballpoints and rollerballs are even recyclable, most people I know just bin them). And most disposable office supply pens and promotional ballpoints are rubbish (God only knows how many dud ones we’ve received as promotional/giveaway items here at home) and the ink supply goes really quickly.

So I end up buying refillable pens which cost more to begin with, but I reckon that because I’ve spent good money on them, I will look after them and not lose them given what they cost me (though I have lost one fountain pen I paid good money for somewhere around the house). And that my carbon footprint goes down as well because I’m not dumping so many empty disposable pens and refills into landfill.

I’m partial to LAMY pens because they are quite comfortable to use. The LAMY logo brushed stainless steel ballpoint [as seen above] is with me everyday at work. And in 3 years, I have yet to replace my original M16 refill once, about a year ago. The ink just flows and flows from the smooth writing ballpoint. And that’s with a serious amount of writing each day at work. I guess I haven’t even got up to the approx. 8,000 metres of writing capacity that each M16 refill is supposed to be able to do (according to LAMY specs).

We’ve got some quite old Cross, Sheaffer and Parker fountain pens here at home that have been handed down to me. My dad used to use some of these in school back in Malaysia when he was a kid. I’m loth to use them though. Worried that I will break the squeeze fillers within them when filling from an ink bottle given they haven’t seen use in a while.

I’m on the lookout for these fountain pens though.

LAMY ABC fountain pens
LAMY ABC fountain pens

A wooden body (maple) fountain pen for about A$40 (from Notemaker.com.au) that either uses LAMY T10 cartridges (I can use up the 20 or so black T10 cartridges I picked up for real cheap a year ago) or LAMY Z24 converters to refill ink from bottles. This should be a great pen to write with. Large barrel for the body means that there’s less hand and finger fatigue using this to write with than thinner/slimmer pens. And with the converter, I can use almost any type of fountain pen ink on the market today. Like my bottles of Noodler’s Ink Bulletproof Black, LAMY T52 blue and the two 50mL bottles of Waterman Black and Florida Blue ink that I picked up from David Jones Westfield Garden City today. Not to mention that it is sooooooooooo cute (it is supposed to be a beginner/kids fountain pen). Aesthetically beautiful in both blue and red with the light maple body and that polished stainless steel nib.

Maybe I’ll drop into Pen & Paper on Queen St later this week to see if they have any of these available. And maybe pick up a bottle of either Aurora Black, Aurora Blue, Visconti Black/Blue or Noodler’s Lubricating Gruene Cactus (Green).

+ 1740hrs

3 thoughts on “Random thoughts on a Sunday”

  1. haha i love the anberlin high
    i’ve been on anberlin high since before the concert
    now i know what to get you for your bday 😉
    i have a nice pen… it’s from CROSS…. dunno if you’ve heard of it but i looked it up online and it was like 50 bucks woohoo!
    hooray for expensive pens as presents

  2. Hi lady and gentle men,do you have this item(Waterman Hemisphere Starlight, chrome fountain pen)?am australia man work and live in USA,let me know the price and how about your payment methods,it’s possible to pay with my australia credit card?hope to hear from you soon.
    pa

Leave a Reply

