Little Person

1st Wednesday after Christmas

[ just watched ] Synecdoche, New York

Charlie Kaufman is a genius. I mean that when I say that.

I loved Being John Malkovich.

The same with Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Adaptation. I still have to find a copy of the last movie of his that I have yet to see, Human Nature.

Synecdoche, New York is just as surreal with just as many observations on humanity and all of our foibles and failings.

Jon Brion (composer of the soundtrack to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) is back with another beautiful score and the songs on this are superb. I’m really digging the track that plays over the closing credits.

Kaufman and Brion captured the essence of Caden’s life in these lyrics. And to an extent, they’ve captured the essence of my life and hopes and dreams thus far. Except unlike Caden, I don’t have a wife and kid that have left me.

“Little Person”
Written by Charlie Kaufman & Jon Brion
Vocals recorded and engineered by Juan Patino
Performed by Deanna Storey

I’m just a little person / One person in a sea / Of many little people / Who are not aware of me / I do my little job / And live my little life / Eat my little meals / Miss my little kid and wife

And somewhere, maybe some day / Maybe somewhere far away / I’ll find a second little person / Who will look at me and say

I know you / You’re the one / I’ve waited for / Let’s have some fun / Life is precious / Every minute / And more precious / With you in it / So let’s have some fun

We’ll take a road trip / Way out west / You’re the one / I like the best / I’m glad I found you / Like hanging round you / You’re the one / I like the best

Somewhere, maybe some day / Maybe somewhere far away / Somewhere, maybe some day / Maybe somewhere far away / Somewhere, maybe some day / Maybe somewhere far away / I’ll meet a second little person / And we’ll go out and play.

So glad I found this at JB Hi-Fi a month ago for A$13. Everywhere else is still trying to flog the DVD off for A$30 minimum.

I have weird tastes in movies. Maybe I’m not “commercial enough”. No wonder I feel so much of an outsider.

Meh.

+ 2142hrs

Leave a Reply

