Misread

Lent 4 – Sunday

[ now playing? ] Yohanna – “Funny Thing Is” | Kings of Convenience – “Misread” | Kings of Convenience – “Rule My World” | Kings of Convenience – “Power Of Not Knowing”

Misread
Words & Music: Kings of Convenience
Vocals, Guitars & Piano: Eirik Glambek Bøe
Upright Bass: Davide Bertolini
Viola: Tobias Hett
Cello: Siri Hilmen

If you want to be my friend, and you want us to get along – please do not expect me to wrap it up and keep it there.
The observation I am doing could easily be understood as cynical demeanour, but one of us misread – what do you know, it happened again.
A friend is not a means you utilize to get somewhere, somehow didn’t notice, friendship is an end – what do you know, it happened again.
How come no one told me, all throughout history, the loneliest people were the ones who always spoke the truth?
The ones who made a difference by withstanding indifference. I guess it’s up to me now – should I take that risk, or just smile? – what do you know, it happened again.
What do you know…

Rule My World
Words & Music: Kings of Convenience
Vocals, steel string guitar: Eirik Glambek Bøe
Vocals, nylon string guitar: Erland Øye

You set yourself above that all forgiving God you claim that you believe in.
Your kind is going to fall, your ship is sinking fast and all your able men are leaving.
Only someone who’s morally superior can possibly and honestly deserve to rule my world.
I talk before I think, you shoot before you know who’s in your line of fire.
So somehow we’re the same, we’re causing people pain.
But I stand and take the blame, you scramble to deny it.
Only someone who’s morally superior can possibly and honestly deserve to rule my world.
Explain me one more time, when they kill it’s a crime, when you kill it is justice.

Power Of Not Knowing
Words & Music: Kings of Convenience
Vocals, steel string guitar: Eirik Glambek Bøe
Vocals, nylon string guitar: Erland Øye

I see you changing, girl, from day to day.
Impressed by, and trying to imitate.
Those who are older, those who are colder.
Suddenly embarrassed by your age.
A bigger blessing, girl, is being young.
The power of not knowing where you belong.
I tried so hard to keep it, not to lose that secret.
Waiting for someone like you to come along.
Maybe it was me that made you old.
Stole whatever it was that made you glow.
A little touch of something, a lot of love for nothing.
And now a heart once open will be closed.

Boat Behind
Words & Music: Kings of Convenience
Vocals, nylon string guitar: Eirik Glambek Bøe
Vocals, steel string guitar: Erland Øye
Upright bass: David Bertolini
Viola: Tobias Hett

So we meet again after several years.
Several years of separation.
Moving on, moving around.
Did we spend this time chasing the other’s tail?
Singing oh-oh-oh-oh, I could never belong to you.
Winter and spring, summer and fall.
You’re a windsurfer crossing the ocean, I’m the boat behind.
Skiffle and rag, shuffle and waltz.
You’re the up-tip-toe ballerina, I’m the chorus line.
Singing oh-oh-oh-oh, I could never belong to you.
River and sea, picking up salt.
Through the air as a fluffy cloud falling down as rain.
But oh-oh-oh-oh, I could never belong to you.

+ 2319hrs

Leave a Reply

