But Not For Me

Lent 5 – Sunday

[ now playing? ] Chet Baker – “But Not For Me” | Chet Baker – “I Fall In Love Too Easily”

But Not For Me
Words & Music: George & Ira Gershwin

They’re writing songs of love, but not for me.
A lucky star’s above, but not for me.
With love to lead the way I’ve found more clouds of grey
than any Russian play could guarantee.
I was a fool to fall and get that way;
Heigh-ho! Alas! And also, lack-a-day!
Although I can’t dismiss the mem’ry of her kiss,
I guess she’s not for me.

I Fall In Love Too Easily
Words & Music: Sammy Cahn & Jule Styne

I fall in love too easily
I fall in love too fast
I fall in love too terribly hard
For love to ever last
My heart should be well schooled
Cause I’ve been fooled in the past
But still I fall in love so easily
I fall in love too fast

================================

My parents are still bugging me about getting married. All because someone comes along to lunch with them and I today.

And ostensibly, lunch is to celebrate her birthday.

I’m contemplating giving them the silent treatment for the rest of this week. Or if not the silent treatment, minimal dialog when necessary.

It’s getting annoying. Actually, “annoying” doesn’t even begin to describe it.

*goes to bed all grumpy*

+ 2305hrs

Leave a Reply

