Requiescat in pace iMonk

Easter 2 – Monday

I’m a week late for this. My internet connection while in Malaysia was spotty. So I’m only beginning to catch up with some of the blogs that I frequently read. And one of them is iMonk.

And I am saddened to read what I just read on his blog a week after his passing.

Requiescat in pace Michael Spencer.

You were one of the few lights out there in the evangelical Christian blogosphere that I trusted. Even when I disagreed with your observations, which were less often than the times I agreed and screamed out “Amen brother!” in front of my computer screen whilst reading. And even though you were on the other side of the world in Kentucky and I here in Brisbane, Australia.

Chaplain Mike has kept up the blog in the same manner as which you led us all to think more deeply about our commitment to Christ and our ecumenical witness as Christians from all over the spectrum (Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Anglican, Protestant, Independent, Fundie…) For that I am truly thankful that you had such willing co-workers who took the time (and continue to take the time) to pen insightful writings for all of us who were out in the (as you called it) “evangelical wilderness”.

And now that you are gone, I will miss reading your thoughts and musings all the more than when you first informed your rather large readership of your battle with cancer.

‘Well done, my good and faithful servant… Come, share your master’s joy.’ – Matt 25:21

In paradisum deducant te angeli:
In tuo adventu sucipiant te martyres;
Et perducant te in civitatem sanctam Jerusalem.
Chorus angelorum te suscipiat,
et cum Lazaro quondam paupere aeternam habeas requiem.

May angels guide you and lead you into paradise:
May all the martyrs come forth to welcome you home;
And may they lead you into the holy city, Jerusalem.
May the angel chorus sing to welcome you,
and like Lazarus, forgotten and poor, you shall have everlasting rest.

I hope to meet you and our Lord at last when my body is committed to the grave. And both of us (along with the multitudes), whatever our theological differences, can truly rejoice at our Lord’s banquet feast. Amen.

+ 2139hrs

One thought on “Requiescat in pace iMonk”

Leave a Reply

