Coincidence maybe?

[ now playing? ] Emilíana Torrini – Me & Armini | Sally Seltmann – Heart Still Pounding

Some days I head to Mass at lunchtime entirely unplanned. That is, I think that I’m going to be busy through that time period when Mass is on and then my schedule at work clears up. So I end up being able to go to Mass after all.

And I don’t know how many times it is now that this happens, but when a short homily is preached, more often than not, it is on something that is directly pertinent to what is going on in my life at that time.

So when Rev. Hynd (or Mother Pam if one wants to get narky) preached today on the lectionary’s Gospel text, it was as if the Lord was speaking directly to me. Deo gratias. This has happened too often over the last 3 years for it to be mere coincidence. Honestly. And just to clarify: No, I do not plan my lunchtime mass attendance by looking at what lectionary readings are assigned for that day.

=============================

On a weird note, I’m cracking out my books on exorcism again. I remember seeing one particular book called The Rite: The Making of a Modern Exorcist by Matt Baglio in Kinokuniya Ngee Ann City earlier this year. It was something like SGD$35 for a hardback or SGD$24 for the paperback. I had luggage weight issues at the time: my stockup on shirts from Uniqlo and taking back some of my grandfather’s earthly possessions from Malaysia left me with little room for much else. So I was pleasantly surprised to find it on a book remainder table for A$7.95 here in Brisbane not that long ago.

Then again, why shouldn’t I be really surprised? It’s a freaking book on exorcism and the training a Catholic priest undergoes once he has been appointed by his bishop as an official exorcist of his diocese. Not exactly something that most people would consider light reading, nor even something that is could conceivably be the basis of a non-fiction book.

Not quite as full on accounts as Fr. Malachi Martin’s Hostage To The Devil, but this one is more pastoral and memoir-like. Much easier to read. Though still not as good (if you can call such a book on this topic that) as Fr. Gabriele Amorth’s books (An Exorcist Tells his Story and An Exorcist: More Stories) and a book by David M. Kiely and Christina McKenna called The Dark Sacrament that I read a couple of years ago after I picked it up from Dymocks (and now a paperback copy is available as a book remainder for A$7.95 at the BookStars clearance centre at Macarthur Central).

But to continue on with the weird theme, the last few weeks have seen me be on “strange evil around me alert” more often than usual (y’all don’t laugh now, y’hear). All I’ll ask of you dear readers is: pray for me.

+ Vade retro satana / + Numquam suade mihi vana
+ Sunt mala quae libas / + Ipse venena bibas

+ 2126hrs

Leave a Reply

