Spiritual Direction

That phrase has been cropping up in my mind all week. And although I’m somewhat Benedictine & Cistercian, there’s been a pull towards Jesuit spirituality lately.
Like in the book I’m slowly working my way through now called ‘The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything’ by Fr. James Martin SJ (2010 HarperOne).
Thoughts about entering religious life alternate with thoughts of staying in my current public service job. What vocation is the right one? Maybe it’s time to call up the Jesuits here in Brisbane & organize a directed retreat. Prayer has got me to where I’m at now.
But maybe St Ignatius’ way of Christian discernment is the next step in this long journey. From an Evangelical Methodist-Catholic hater to Evangelical Anglo-Catholic (with a smidgen of Methodist still in him) in 6-7 years. Dear Lord, you have a funny way of working in my life.
Time for sleep now.
0008hrs (posted from my mobile phone)

Leave a Reply

