Simple pleasures

Mowing the lawn on a beautiful day. Not too hot, just enough breeze to stay cool.

In ear monitors playing tunes from my iPod Classic.

Sally Seltmann – Heart That’s Pounding is a perfect spring/summer album to have playing. I picked this up in April/May this year and didn’t really listen to it much during the winter months. Now that it’s warming up, there’s a mood invoked by the weather that matches the music. Baroque/indie folk-pop. I never thought I would have listened to this in any great deal when I was in high school. But oh, how utterly narrow minded my musical tastes were back then.

A bit like Angus & Julia Stone’s current album Down The Way. It’s not quite that appropriate in terms of mood and feel for the winter months but for spring/summer, I suspect it’s going to get more rotation in my iPod playlists now.

Get yourself up, get yourself up
get yourself out of bed
this is a new day, this is a new day
this is a new day today
snapping your fingers, tapping your toes
you are humming a tune, you know, you know
this is is a new day, this is a new day
this is a new day today

I’m gonna change, I’m gonna change
I’m gonna change the way
I see myself today
I’m gonna change, I’m gonna change
but there’s gotta be an easier way
an easy way to start the day

Sally Seltmann, “On The Borderline”

The above is from probably my favorite track on the Seltmann album. Sure it’s quite a saccharine laced effort, but given the melancholy that plagues me at times, I need these happy songs at times. It reminds me of one of those psalms that crops up every month at least once in the psalter readings for morning or evening prayer.

This is the Lord’s doing and it is marvellous in our eyes
This is the day which the Lord hath made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.
Help me now, O Lord. O Lord, send us now prosperity.

Psalm 118:23-25 (Coverdale from the BCP 1662)

Gimme this over the latest Hillsong/Planet Shakers/P&W hit anyday.

2026hrs

Leave a Reply

