Thanks

Ordinary Time 5 – Thursday
Feast of St. Scholastica, Abbess

The last month has seen some ups and downs. But God is working in the background if I am noticing things correctly. The pleas and desires of my heart and mind have been poured out like libations before him in prayer over the last month.

Almost paradoxically, my prayer life is becoming more monk-like. The paradox is that it happens now that I have been blessed with someone special coming back into my life.

And I pray for the needs of others, for the state of the world around us and for the life of the Body of Christ on earth, His Church. And I pray for her, for I, for us, for our respective families and for God to open a path where we have a shared future together here in Australia. For the hope that her family will come to know Christ. For grace and strength for the two of us as we go about our daily lives.

For wisdom, not just knowledge. For wisdom that I can grow from being a child into becoming an adult; into becoming a man (cf. 1 Corinthians 13:11, which was part of the mattins readings on St. Brigid’s day, Feb 1), the man that God would have me be. For wisdom for her so that she can grow into the woman that God would have her be. And knowledge also so she can pass her final set of exams.

For a way to be opened for her to establish a career here in Australia and for the two of us to establish a family with Christ as the head of our home (yes, I know it’s cheesy but by God is it true).

Faith, which for most of my life has been more of an abstract notion, is becoming enfleshed into reality. Faith is being incarnated into my life, into hers. The last time that I had even the slightest similarity to what I am going through now was the time when I went through some serious depression a few years ago when thoughts of ending my life appeared far too frequently in my mind.

Love, which for the majority of my life has been something that has turned primarily inward, has started to sprout and move outwards from myself to others.

And so, I start the second decade of the 21st century with hope in my heart and mind. And faith, most definitely faith. Faith in God first and foremost, followed by faith in humanity.

And that is something that I give thanks for.

Deo gratias. 

Ευχαριστώ το Θεό.

Gud vare tack.

Kiitos Jumalalle.

하느님께 감사합니다.

神に感謝すること。

感谢上帝。

Thanks be to God.

+ 2149hrs

Leave a Reply

